Time for Nominations to Diocesan Leadership


    The 123rd Annual Meeting is scheduled for November 3 at the Episcopal School of Dallas, 4100 Merrell Road in Dallas. The Nominating Committee, chaired by the Rev. Perry Mullins, will receive nominations for the following open positions:

    Secretary of Convention: 1 clergy or 1 lay

    Standing Committee: 1 clergy and 1 lay

    Executive Council: 2 clergy and 4 lay

    University of the South Trustee: 1 clergy

    It is important that the Nominating Committee receives suggestions and nominations representing the full breadth of the diocese; please prayerfully consider those who might be of good service to the diocese.

    Nominate an individual online here. 

    Complete the form for the nominee here.

    If you have questions or prefer a paper form rather than online access, please contact
    Amy Wooten by email or phone at 214-826-8310. The deadline for nominations is 4 p.m., August 3. Nominations received after the deadline date will not be printed in the convention booklet, and it will be the responsibility of the nominator to provide copies of the completed nomination biography to all delegates of the convention.

    Episcopal Diocese of Dallas 
    1630 N. Garrett Avenue
    Dallas, Texas 75206
    Secretary of the Diocesan Convention (see Canon 7)

    The Secretary for the Convention serves a one-year term and is responsible for the official record of the proceedings of the Diocesan Convention and other duties as stated in the Constitution and Canon of the Diocese of Dallas.

    The Standing Committee (see Article 10 and Canon 6)

    The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Dallas consists of three priests (entitled to seats in the Convention) and three lay communicants (in good standing within their churches) from the diocese, elected by Convention for three-year terms. It functions as a committee of advice to the bishop and is called at the bishop’s discretion, or it may meet of its own accord. The Standing Committee gives consent for persons to become candidates for Holy Orders, consent for ordinations and consent to elections of bishops in other dioceses. When there is no bishop, bishop coadjutor, or bishop suffragan, the Standing Committee becomes the ecclesiastical authority of the diocese. The committee meets the second Tuesday of the month.

    The Executive Council (see Canon 5)

    There shall be eighteen elected members of the Executive Council to be chosen at the annual convention by a concurrent vote of a majority of each order from the following categories: six members of the clergy, entitled to seats in the Convention, and twelve lay persons, who are confirmed communicants in good standing of Parishes and Missions in union with the Convention. Two members of the clergy and four lay persons shall be elected at each Convention for a term of three years. No member who has served three consecutive years shall be eligible for reelection until the lapse of one year after the expiration of his last period of service. The Executive Council of the Diocese of Dallas has as its purpose the administration of the missionary, educational, and social service work of the diocese. The Bishop is the executive head of this work. The Executive Board carries on the work of the Convention between meetings. The Executive Council submits the Proposed Budget to the Convention. The committee meets the second Tuesday of the month.

    The Trustee for the University of the South (see Canon 23)

    There shall be elected by the Diocesan Convention three Trustees of the University of the South, consisting of one clerical and two lay persons. One trustee is to be elected each year for a three-year term. Trustees to the University of the South are elected for a three-year term and may serve for two consecutive terms. A trustee who has served two consecutive terms may not serve again until at least one year after the expiration of the second term. Trustees meet for a mandatory meeting each year in October and an optional meeting each May at Sewanee, TN. The Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing the policies of the university and for the concurrence to the election of the vice- chancellor. Travel costs to attend the meeting(s) are generally the responsibility of the trustee, unless the trustee is unable to pay, and the Diocese may provide assistance. The pattern of election is one year lay, next year lay, and following year clergy.