Diocesan Convention 2019

10.09.19 | Homepage | by Kimberly Durnan

    The Diocese of Dallas’ convention is scheduled for November 2, at Parish Episcopal School, 4101 Sigma Road in Dallas. Registration and coffee begin at 7:30 a.m., opening Eucharist is at 8:30 a.m., with the Rt. Rev. Todd McGregor, bishop of Madagascar, scheduled to present the homily.

    After worship, the annual business meeting begins and will include elections to diocesan offices and proposed amendment changes.  

    Elections and candidates are:

    Secretary to Convention

    Bob Buchanan, Saint Michael and All Angels

    Standing Committee Clergy (elect one)

    The Rev. Robert Corley, St. Marks in Irving

    The Rev. Greg Methvin, St. Philip’s in Frisco

    The Rev. Dr. Samira Izadi Page, Gateway of Grace, Grace Community; Holy Faith in Dallas 

    Standing Committee Lay (elect one)

    Garry Brown, St. John’s in Dallas

    Tom Graves, Incarnation in Dallas

    John Norton, Holy Trinity in Garland

    Executive Council Clergy (elect two)

    The Rev. Matthew Crownover, Incarnation North in Dallas

    The Rev. Richard Daly, St. James in Texarkana

    The Rev. D. J. Griffin, Church of the Savior in Allen

    The Rev. Paul Nesta, St. David’s in Denton

    The Rev. John Schmidt, St. Paul’s in Prosper

    The Rev. Roy Thomas, St. Andrew’s in McKinney

    The Rev. Catherine Thompson, Annunciation in Lewisville

    The Rev. Alfredo Williams, San Marcos in Mount Pleasant

    Executive Council Lay (Elect four)

    John Bovard, St. John’s in Dallas

    Lynn Christiansen, St. Peter’s in McKinney

    Tara Fedric, Holy Trinity in Garland

    Cory Floyd, St. James in Texarkana

    Sheryl Holton, St. Philip’s in Frisco

    Jolayne Lacour, St. David’s in Denton

    Britany Myers, St. Philip’s in Sulphur Springs

    Lee Spence, St. Dunstan in Mineola

    William Stetson, Good Shepherd in Cedar Hill

    University of the South Trustee Lay Order (elect one)

    Jennifer Hargrave, Incarnation in Dallas

    Missy Hubbell, Good Shepherd in Dallas

    General Convention Deputy Clergy (elect four)

    The Rev. Matthew Burdette, St. Christopher’s in Dallas

    The Rev. Canon Victoria Heard, Redeemer in Irving

    The Rev. Canon Dr. Jordan Hylden, St. Augustine’s in Dallas

    The Rev. Dr. Greg Methvin, St. Philip’s in Frisco

    The Rev. Canon Jerry Morriss, St. Dunstan’s in Mineola

    The Rev. Paul Nesta, St. David’s in Denton

    The Rev. Dr. Matthew S.C. Olver, Nashotah House Seminary in Wisconsin

    The Rev. Craig Reed, Holy Cross, Paris

    The Rev. Leslie Stewart, Resurrection in Plano

    The Rev. Rebecca Tankersley, Transfiguration in Dallas

    General Convention Deputy Lay (elect four)

    Pat Bostain, St. Paul’s in Prosper

    Garry Brown, St. John’s in Dallas

    Susan Cahoon, Good Shepherd in Dallas

    Cathleen Dolt, St. James in Dallas

    Fred Ellis, St. Thomas the Apostle in Dallas

    Adele Ichilian, St. Matthew’s Cathedral in Dallas

    Jolayne Lacour, St. David’s in Denton

    William Murchison, Incarnation in Dallas

    David Parsons, Incarnation in Dallas

    Lee Spence, St. Dunstan’s in Mineola

    William Stetson, Good Shepherd in Cedar Hill

    Proposed Amendment to Canon 14: To Expand Vestry Election Methods

    Canon 14 Wardens and Vestry of Parishes 

    Section 14.1 Except as otherwise provided in this Canon, all members of the Vestry shall be elected by ballot at an Annual Parish Meeting by(a)a majority of votes cast by the qualified voters present or (b) by such lesser vote (such as plurality) of the qualified voters present as may be approved by a majority vote of the qualified voters present;and, except as herein otherwise provided, the term of office shall be three (3) years succeeding their election.

    Two pre-convention meetings are also scheduled for October 19; one is at 10 a.m. at Church of the Apostles, 322 S. MacArthur Blvd, Coppell; and the other is at 2 p.m. at St. Peter's, 400 N. College Street in McKinney.